About West Park
Here’s a quick guide to West Park’s hidden history
1825 – The site was the town’s racecourse called Broad Meadows.
1881 – West Park is officially opened on June 6. It is designed by RH Vertegans with the theme Spe Labor Levis – Hope Lightens Labour.
1882 – Wolverhampton MP Charles Villiers donates a bandstand.
1883 – Councillor John Ross donates the clocktower near the central flowerbeds.
1891 – The lakeside pavilion is built.
1889 – An annual flower fete is launched to raise money for a new conservatory.
1896 – The heated conservatory is added.
1901 – The Swiss-style chalet is opened to sell refreshments.
1906 – Tennis courts are installed and a children’s playground.
1917 – Allotments set up for the war effort, rabbits, hares, ducks are reared here for meat and eggs.
1940s – Part of the park was again turned over to allotments for the war effort.
1940 – The park’s lease was bought by Wolverhampton Council from the Duke of Cleveland’s estate.
1970s Dutch Elm disease badly affected the park’s tree stock 220 trees were lost – since then extensive replanting of diverse range of trees has been undertaken.
1980s – Conservation work starts on the conservatory, the shelter, clock tower and lakeside pavilion.
2000- 2006 – Wolverhampton Council secures a £2.1 million Heritage Lottery Fund grant to restore the park to its Victorian splendour.
2013 – Smart phone users can download the Bandstand App from the Apple App Store and Google Play Store, plug in their headphones and wander around the bandstand to discover even more about the park.